Blue Monday

Yesterday, Monday, I had a real test for practising what I preach!!  it began with a frantic and unsuccessful search for my diary. I decided to leave it  – it would surely turn up…

So, first a visit to a glass company for a report on my car for insurance purposes: I just couldn’t find it! Yes, the directions I had been given were hopelessly muddles, and no, I don’t possess a Garmin. I do have a map book, which I now realize is way out of date. And admittedly, my children will announce gleefully that ‘Mom can’t find her way out of a paper bag…. But a mission that should have taken half an hour, took an hour and a half. Did I remember to use my senses to come into the moment? Well, yes, now and then I remembered to feel my hands on the wheel, which probably helped fleetingly….

When I came home, the next task was to contact the telephone company through which I get internet, as my computer hadn’t been working for several days. After sitting on the phone for 30 minutes (remember, this is Africa…) I finally reached a living human being. As I finished explaining the problem we were mysteriously cut off! After another 30 minutes I finally got through to someone who solved my problem.

Now, back to the diary – my lifeline to the world. After another desperate search it occurred to me what might have happened. I had taken a pile of paper for recycling down to the bin on the premises and posted it in. After much discussion, the groundsman agreed to unlock the receptacle (it’s very big) and the diary was there – unscathed.

Did I feel stressed during the day – most definitely!! Did I remember to be mindful? Occasionally – which is infinitely better than not at all – remember to be kind and gentle with yourself. The phrase that came into my head on and off was ‘What about the stillness’? Each time it brought a measure of calm. Like the sky – vast and constant – the inevitable challenges of life as a human being just the clouds that move across its surface.

And in the end – all was well, – even if ‘life is just one damn thing after another’ !

About Jill M Jacques

I grew up in Johannesburg, South Africa, and have spent most of my life here doing the usual things - marrying, having children and caring for an array of pets ranging from dogs to silkworms and chameleons. I first became interested in philosphy and its practical application in everyday life in my early 20s and spent many years as part of a group that pursued this goal. Drawing on this experience, I have been running "How to live in the Now" programmes for over 10 years. I wrote this book in response to requests from group members for something "simple and practical". I tend to see the funny side of life situations and enjoy writing humorous back pages as well as short stories and some poetry. Some of these have been published. Being here now is what really matters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

